Guinness

Posted: November 13, 2009 in Advertising
Tags: , ,

I am a very visual person and have very peculiar tastes in the way in which certain things look. I thought I would have a look at some very famous poster advertising campaigns that these days would be considered ‘old fashioned’. My personal view is that a lot of advertising posters (and advertising in general) has these days become very ‘safe’, clichéd and tacky.

053_SPR-6195

Here is a campaign by Guinness which was successful for many years. These Guinness posters by John Gilroy are world famous and reproductions of them have become very collectible.

Notice that these posters use very simple slogans such as…

“Guinness Is Good For You”84_1_520

“My Goodness My Guinness”

Guiness_Blitz_poster

“Lovely Day For A Guinness”

lgpp30181+lovely-day-for-a-guinness-guinness-poster

“Guinness Time”

guinness_toucan_poster

Leave a comment