I have found quite a few interesting things through my research on the 1953 Collingwood Premiership team, most of which I don’t think anyone but me cares about. Anyway I will post it here just for posterities sake.

This is from the Argus, Friday June 2 1950 about Thorold Merrett‘s first game with Collingwood.

I have found lots of advertisements whilst going through the old newspapers and some are quite weird but I guess a reflection of their time. This is an advertisement from the Argus regarding attractions at the 1953 Royal Melbourne Show.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This ad for Wirth’s Circus is interesting. I can understand that in 1953 Frankston, Dandenong and Edithvale were considered country areas but Cheltenham. I wonder were the city ended and the country began?!

Leave a Reply

