Werewolf of London

Posted: October 2, 2009 in Cinema
Tags: , ,

I noticed in JB Hifi that several of the Universal Monster movies of the 1930s and 40s have been rereleased onto DVD. Among the releases are the usual suspects, Dracula, Frankenstein, The Mummy, and The Wolf Man as well as some lesser known films such as House Of Frankenstein and Werewolf Of London. Unfortunately it seems that neither the classic The Invisible Man nor Son Of Frankenstein have been rereleased but perhaps they will follow. I always meant to pick up copies of these when Universal first released them here in 2002. (I did buy the woeful MRA releases of Frankenstein and Bride, so I finally can get rid of those horrors, pun intended!)

 Werewolf Of London is perhaps the least well known of Universal’s horror film, being overshadowed by The Wolf Man starring Lon Chaney Jr, which was released five years afterwards. I have always been curious about this film but have not had the chance to view it… until now. I enjoy The Wolf Man a lot, even though werewolves are in my opinion the most terrifying of all the monsters. (Ask my brother about the nightmares he inflicted on me as a kid by watching The Boy Who Cried Werewolf late at night in our room when we were supposed to be asleep!)

Leave a Reply

