Harry Potter And The Half Blood Prince

Posted: August 5, 2009 in Movie Review
Tags: ,

I finally used the Gold Class tickets that I was given for Christmas the other day, to see the new Harry Potter film. The reason why it took me so long to use the Gold Class tickets is because there has not been anything released at the cinema that I have really wanted to see. I did want to see The Wrestler when it came out but this was never shown in the Village Gold Class cinema.

The Gold Class experience was OK. I would not buy myself these tickets as I don’t think they are very good value for money. Then again regular movie tickets are not good value for money either unless you go to the cinemas on Tuesday when ticket prices are half price. The only real difference between a regular ticket and Gold Class is that you get a more comfortable chair and less people at a Gold Class cinema. We also had a $30 food voucher but unfortunately the Gold Class food is not just popcorn, choc tops and Coke. Instead they have overpriced crap that you’d expect in a restaurant not a cinema. Maybe I am uncultured but $12 Vietnamese spring rolls in some exotic sauce do not seem to fit the movie experience like popcorn. It does not matter anyway as our usher (who had to be told by his manager to take us to our seats) did not return to us to take our order anyway, so if there is anyone who wants a $30 food voucher email me.

As for the movie itself, I enjoyed it more than the previous Harry Potter film. The last film I thought was too rushed while the pacing of Half Blood Prince was much better. The film did not focus much on support characters though. I cannot say how closely the film resembles the book because I gave up reading the Harry Potter books after book 5, but it seems that there is a bit too much fan service in this chapter. It is a little too convenient that Harry and Ginny, and Ron and Hermione get together and that Snape turns out to be evil all along. These are not issues with the film but with JK Rowling who just seemed to be too eager to make her fans happy than to give her readers compelling plot twists to make things interesting.

Leave a Reply

