Aussie Selectors Lose Second Test

Posted: July 20, 2009 in Cricket, Sport
Tags: , ,

It looks as if Australia are about to lose the second test match against England. Just as in 2005 it looks as if the Ashes could be in jeopardy again. Whilst there has been a lot of criticism of our very inexperienced bowling line up, I feel that in this test match the batsmen have really let us down. Mr Cricket, Michael Hussey, has been really out of form and I wonder why Brad Hodge is still sitting at home in Melbourne and not on the tour. I’m sure I have spoken before about being confused as to why Hodge is not in the team. I am bewildered as to why someone who made a double century against South Africa would be dropped three tests later. (Of course we know that the selectors don’t like having Victorian batsmen in the team. Don’t believe me, just ask Dean Jones and Matthew Elliott!)

I also don’t understand why some of these bowlers were chosen. The bowling line up is very inexperienced and will be much improved when Brett Lee returns to the team. I would have liked to see the selectors put some faith in Shaun Tait. There is no one in the current line up who is likely to put any fright into the English batsmen. Mitchell Johnson is the quickest Aussie playing this test but he has really struggled with his line and length. Siddle is just a trundler while Hilfenhaus has probably been the pick of the quicks. I understand that Stuart Clarke has been injured and has not as yet shown the form that proved him to be the biggest Australian wicket taker over the last couple of years, but why did selectors choose someone who was not fit?

Comments
  1. Millsie says:

    OMG, in regards to the bowling strength I read that Thommo agrees with what I have said. I also heard today that the brown nose gnome, Justin Langer, has put his hand up to play in the third test, even tho he retured a couple of years ago.

Leave a Reply

