Lots of stuff

Posted: July 13, 2009 in Formula 1, Media Watch
Tags: , , , ,

I haven’t really been blogging much in the last couple of weeks. I have been much too busy redecorating this place and am still only a quarter of the way through. We have been moving boxes of junk and other stuff to our storage locker, which was a logistical nightmare to do when you don’t own a car.

 My jury duty begins on Wednesday. I am sort of looking forward to it, although I’m not sure if I really want to do it. I am really nervous about things and feel that I’ll probably have the misfortune to be on a lengthy murder trial. It would be juicy to be part of this, but I really have lots of other things that I’d rather be doing.

 Finally I must give my congratulations to Mark Webber on his first win. I knew that he would eventually break through and unlike all of those knockers I never doubted him. It always made me angry whenever I heard the so-called experts, people who in reality know nothing about Formula 1 yet get paid to talk about sport on the radio, make wise crack after wise crack about Webber. I’m glad that he is finally able to make them eat some humble pie. I’d also like to make special mention of Triple M’s Roy & HG. Anybody who regularly listens to this program (yes all three of you) would know that this duo has taken particular delight in Mark’s constant bad luck. I am particularly glad that in a week when there is speculation about Roy & HG’s show being cancelled like many other failing programs on Triple M that Webber was able to break through for a win.

 I should also make a special mention of Triple M’s falling fortunes. They are currently being hammered in the ratings, with even Vega scoring more listeners. There are many reasons why Triple M is failing which everyone except the management there can see. Perhaps if they did more than play songs from ‘the awesome 80s’ and the comedy they featured on their station actually contained comedy (you know, stuff that is funny) they would be more successful. Maybe if they did not simulcast shows from Sydney and actually produced shows for Melbourne in Melbourne then more Melbournians would be listening. I still remember listening to a show (the Shebang) a few years ago which featured a commercial for North Sydney Alfa Romeo. Obviously some genius forgot to press the button that plays the local ads when they went to a commercial break.

Leave a Reply

