16 mm Cartoon Collecting

Posted: April 16, 2009 in Animation
Tags:

Here is an area that I may be getting into very soon. It is perhaps the ultimate way to watch classic cartoons and a way to get those cartoons that are not available on DVD. From what I have heard cartoons on 16mm film look better than anything that is on DVD or even Blu Ray.

 

I have memories of watching a Mickey Mouse film (Clock Cleaners) on an old projector that my Dad inherited from an uncle who passed away. Unfortunately there was no sound when we watched the film. Not sure if the reason was because there was no sound on the film, or the projector wasn’t able to play sound.

 

Anyone, just a quick look at Ebay brought to my attention a number of films that look very appealing. There are a few good UPA cartoons available, including Madeline for US $10, Georgie And The Dragon (US $11.50) and The Emperor’s New Clothes (US $10). This Ebay store offers postage to Australia for US $30. Another Ebay seller has Betty Boop’s Bamboo Island for US $25 with postage calculated at a more reasonable US $13. If you look hard enough you can find Looney Tunes, Woody Woodpecker, Mickey Mouse and lots of other classic cartoons.

 

I’m not sure if now is the best time for me financially to be buying more stuff, but I am very tempted by some of the films. If I do buy some then all I’ll have to do is then buy a projector too.

Leave a Reply

