2009 Malaysian Grand Prix Preview

Posted: April 3, 2009 in Formula 1, Motorsport, Sport
Tags: , , , ,

I am a little late posting this Malaysian Grand Prix preview. The first two practice sessions have been completed with both Williams and Ferrari coming out on top. Brawn has been the next fastest, although the biggest talking point has been about Lewis Hamilton’s disqualification from last weekend’s Australian Grand Prix because he mislead stewards about the Jarno Trulli incident. Yawn!!! The FIAs constant bias against Hamilton and McLaren has become so tiresome. The full details of the incident can be found here.


As there is the possibility of Hamilton being suspended for a number of weeks over this incident I guess I should make some comment. I won’t try to second guess the FIA or their stewards and will only say that they will probably make the decision that will be the most bewildering and is the most detrimental to the sport, which is exactly what they have always done. The FIA and their race stewards are not exactly known for their common sense, but I think that what should be done is that Hamilton should be reinstated in fourth place and that this incident should be allowed to just blow over.


Now to Malaysia… even though the Brawns have been the third fastest team in practice so far I expect either Jenson Button or Rubens Barrichello to win at Sepang. It’s good to see the Ferrari show some pace but… I don’t expect it to last through qualifying and the race. Williams have shown they too can be quick but I also expect their pace to drop off during the weekend. I do expect both BMW Sauber, Toyota and Red Bull to be the main challengers to Brawn. If it’s wet (and it looks like it may be), Vettel and the Toyotas will do very well and I would not discount Webber from getting a good placing either.


My Predictions


  1. Jenson Button – Brawn Mercedes
  2. Rubens Barrichello – Brawn Mercedes
  3. Sebastian Vettel – Red Bull Renault
  4. Jarno Trulli – Toyota
  5. Felipe Massa – Ferrari
  6. Robert Kubica – BMW Sauber
  7. Mark Webber – Red Bull Renault
  8. Timo Glock – Toyota

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s