The Eraser Who Tried To Rub Out Batman

Posted: March 28, 2009 in Batman, DC Comics
Tags: , , ,

I have a soft spot for Batman’s lesser known villains, especially those who can be classified a being losers. Everyone knows the Joker, Ra’s Al Ghul, the Penguin, Two Face and the Riddler, but how many casual fans know the Getaway Gimmick Genius, the Black Spider, the Spook or Crazy Quilt? I also admit to being a fan of Killer Moth and Firefly too. However the villain that I want to focus on here is someone who had no chance of being more than a one-shot rogue, even though his ‘m.o.’ was pretty cool. While his shtick of erasing any evidence of another crook’s crime could have made him a worthy member of Batman’s rogue’s gallery, Lenny Fiasco’s costume was just too silly, while the story was just stupid. Still, I think Eraser would make for a pretty neat action figure.














Comments
  1. JF Porlier says:

    Thanks for the laugh! As a long time Batman fan, I can appreciate the special quirkiness of some of Batman’s foes! But this one must be the most ridiculous villain ever drawn on a page. I guess the writer nust have run out of ideas and just fixated on his pencil for a while… This villain was, thankfully, erased from our collective memory (or insert any other eraser-related joke here)!

    Thanks again for reproducing those pages here. I think Roy Lichtenstein would have loved this character for one of his paintings.

    BTW, while we’re on the subject of weird and marvelous creations, you gotta love the Jokermobile by Corgi!

  2. Leo says:

    Thanks for posting these scans! I’ve been trying to re-imagine The Eraser as more of a badass, and I’ve been looking all over for the comic to use as a reference. I’ll link you up when I’m done, if you’re interested.

  3. […] These are some drawings of my very favorite comic book character from my very favorite comic book collection, Bizarro Comics! In particular, Who Erased the Eraser?, written by Eddie Campbell and drawn by Hunt Emerson. However, the first and only other time the Eraser appeared was in Batman #188, which was probably one of the worst comic books I’ve ever read. You have to check it out. […]

  4. Millsie says:

    Thanks for that.

  5. […] Batman may have the greatest rogues gallery in all of comicdom but there are also a few duds too. The Eraser comes to mind as does Crazy Quilt and the Ten Eyed Man, but I think Kiteman takes the […]

  6. […] may have the greatest rogues gallery in all of comicdom but there are also a few duds too. The Eraser comes to mind as does Crazy Quilt and the Ten Eyed Man, but I think Kiteman takes the cake. […]

Leave a Reply

