My Top Ten Comedy Films

Posted: March 25, 2009 in Lists, Movie Review

Here is a quick look at my favourite comedy films. These are the films that have made me laugh the most over the years and ones that I can watch over and over again. These are probably the comedy films that I feel haven’t dated so much over the years as people’s tastes in comedy changes as time goes by. What was funny 100 years ago is not necessarily funny now.

  1. Duck Soup – The Marx Bros. funniest film and my favourite of all time.
  2. Some Like It Hot – Jack Lemmon and Tony Curtis in drag with Marilyn Monroe at her sexiest, what more could you want?
  3. Flying High! – I sure picked a bad week to quit smoking! This movie was called Airplane! in the USA and is really silly and very funny.
  4. National Lampoons Vacation – We’re going to Walley World. My Dad is Clark W. Griswold, which is probably why I find it funny, as I can empathise with the poor suffering kids.
  5. A Night At The Opera – The Marx Bros. most renowned film has many classic scenes and skits.
  6. Annie Hall – Woody Allen’s best and funniest film.
  7. Abbott & Costello Meet Frankenstein – Universal horror fans think that this movie is a disgrace but those movies were all silly anyway.
  8. Caddyshack – I love Rodney Dangerfield in this film.
  9. The Nutty Professor (1963) – Jerry Lewis’ funniest fim, much better than the Eddie Murphy remake.
  10. Young Frankenstein – Mel Brooks’ funniest film, much better than Blazing Saddles, which I think has aged badly in comparison.
Leave a Reply

