Archive for February 10, 2009


I’m still in shock over the news that Brian Naylor lost his life in the Kinglake bushfires on the weekend. Like most Melbournians I can remember how Brian would tell us the days’ news every night on channel 9. He did this for twenty years and apparently before that he appeared on channel 7 on the news and on Brian and the Juniors, although this was before I was born. He will also be remembered as a long time host of Carols By Candlelight, that has raised so much money for Vision Australia over the years.

Brian broke some of the biggest news stories in Victoria’s history, including the Walsh Street police killings and the 1983 Ash Wednesday bushfires. Even though I never met Brian I felt as though I knew him since he was the only newsreader that I had ever watched for the first twenty years of my life. Only a week or so ago I was wondering what he was doing now.


Overnight Red Bull launched the RB5 which it hopes will allow it to challenge for podiums and possible victories in the 2009 Formula 1 season.




Mark Webber promised that this would be the best looking of the 2009 Formula 1 cars although to me it looks the least ugly.


Here’s the third part of four, of “Where Were You The Night Batman Died?”. Part 1 was posted here, part 2 was posted here and part 4 will be posted here tomorrow.