One thing that I abhor more than anything else is racism. Here in Australia we all like to think that racism does not exist anymore, but as the rise of Pauline Hanson showed in the 1990s and early 2000s, that isn’t necessarily true. I know that we Aussies don’t like political correctness, but there are also still some of us also think that we should be allowed to use racial slurs to describe those who do not have white skin. This all brings me to this advertisement which I found on Danny Boy’s blog.

This brand of licorice apparently lasted up until the mid-1960s, but fortunately no longer exists. This perfectly illustrates how unenlightened we were just 40 years ago.

Comments
  1. […] Racist Licorice The other day I posted about Nigger Boy Licorice, a brand of sweet that was popular in Australia for many years up until the mid-1960s when it was […]

  2. […] in Australia from the 1940s until the mid-1960s. I have already made a couple of posts about it here and […]

  3. Hi,

    Thank you for the great quality of your blog, each time i come here, i’m amazed.

    black hattitude.

  4. Millsie says:

    Thankyou

  5. subwaysurfer says:

    Wow… just when you think you’ve seen EVERYTHING on this subject! Thanks so much for posting this, as I am doing a post precisely on this topic on my blog at http://www.subwaysurfer.blogspot.com
    As a African American Yankee and illustrator, I was only doing research on this subject from the AMERICAN view, not thinking about what went on overseas. Really thought provoking stuff that could not hae come along at a better time.

  6. Millsie says:

    Glad I could help

  7. jamo says:

    As a little kid I remember the big billboard on top of the licorice factory in Hawthorn Rd Caulfield and it made me eat nothing but that licorice for years. I was all sad when my little black mate dissapeared. Of course in the sixties as small child you have no concept or rational of racism.

  8. LOL says:

    An Australian telling other’s they’re racist. Hahahaha.. Ohhh.. the irony. Kill any Abbo’s lately white man?

  9. Millsie says:

    Yes, because all white Australians are racists that go out to hunt Aborigines and bash Indians. I regularly dress in my white sheets and burn crucifixes too. Srsly you are an idiot.

  10. pevan10Peter says:

    My Dad was the factory manager at Australian Licorice in Hawthorn Road Caufield in the early sixties and we lived in an old bungalow at the back of the factory. I can just remember ( I was 4 at the time) there being a hole in the wall at the back of our place so that my dad could go into the factory in the early hours of the morning to start the boilers up.

  11. Lucas. says:

    well…..I dont know what all the fuss is about,the word ”NIGGER” was harmless back then and to most australians still is…….dont freak out people!!! It’s just a word.

  12. Ivan Tipp says:

    I remember Nigger Boy licorice, it was yummy. And the Nigger Boy showbags were the best. Remember the Dumb Nigger comics that we got with them, they were hilarious.
    I don’t know why people get so out of shape abot the word Nigger. My daughter had a Golliwog doll that she called Nigger. Nanna had a black and brown dog she called Nigga. And there was a dairy farmer up the road from Nanna’s place and he was called Nigger, he was white. So I don’t know what the big deal is. We don’t have Niggers in Australia, we have coons and boongs.

Leave a Reply

