The Dark Knight – Movie Review

Posted: July 23, 2008 in Batman, Movie Review
Tags: , , , ,

The Dark Knight – Movie Review

Yesterday I saw the latest Batman film “The Dark Knight”. Well it was cheap Tuesday, I am a huge Batman fan and it’s been forever since I have been to the movies. The movie was great, certainly the best Batman film ever made (better even than “Batman and Robin”!). Heath Ledger’s performance as the Joker is amazing. He seems to have really made the right balance between being menacing and funny (in a macabre way) and is surely deserving of an Oscar nomination. I also liked how Gary Oldman, Morgan Freeman and Michael Caine all had larger parts in this movie. Overall I thought the movie was a great rollercoaster ride that I loved every minute of. However, as a Batman fan boy there were a couple of things I thought could have been improved.

(SPOILER ALERT. IF YOU HAVEN”T SEEN THE MOVIE AND DON’T WANT IT SPOILED THEN SKIP THIS PART!!!)

I was really quite annoyed that Harvey Dent/Two Face died at the end of the film. Why does the villain have to die at the end of the movie? Harvey is one of Batman’s top 5 rogues (with Joker, Catwoman, Penguin and Ras Al Ghul) so why kill him off? Why didn’t they use Harvey to his full potential? Tim Burton started this trend of the villain dying at the end back with the original Batman film in 1989. I thought it was a stupid thing to do then and it’s just as stupid to do now!!!

Also, was the Joker meant to be a real clown? It seems that he was meant to be wearing clown make up, as there was one scene where it was running and another where part of it came off. The comic book Joker doesn’t wear make up! His skin was bleached white and his hair turned green after he dived into a vat of chemicals trying to escape Batman. (See the Red Hood) This is an important part of the Joker’s character as it partly explains why he went insane (see The Killing Joke).

Finally, there could have been a bigger part for Cilian Murphy’s Scarecrow. Scarecrow is my favourite rogue so I was disappointed that he only appeared for less than five minutes in the film.

(END OF SPOILERS)

Notwithstanding the few problems I had with the film I still though that it was entertaining. It certainly is the best hero movie ever made, I just wonder which villains they will use in the next movie. I suppose that they will have to use the Penguin (hopefully they wont do what Tim Burton did and make him a human/penguin hybrid), Catwoman and Poison Ivy again. I want to see a movie featuring Deadshot or Mr Zsasz or even Firefly. Let’s just hope that they haven’t lined up Killer Moth to be the next rogue. Don’t get me wrong, as I love Killer Moth, it’s just that he doesn’t fulfil the grim and gritty trend of Batman Begins and Dark Knight. Perhaps Killer Moth will have his day if Joel Schumacher is ever allowed to make another Batman film (Oh God, please don’t ever allow that to happen again!!!).

Leave a Reply

