QV Newsagency New No Reading Policy

Posted: December 22, 2007 in Misc Thoughts
Tags:

I know that a newsagency is not a lending library but customers usually do like to look through magazines before they purchase them. At least I do anyway. I don’t blindly buy magazines, but instead purchase ones that have interesting articles. The only way that I am able to see whether a magazine has interesting articles is to flick through them first to see what is inside the cover. Unfortunately the QV newsagent in Melbourne has begun a new policy of not allowing customers to read through their magazines until after you have purchased them. They even have a guy roaming the shop rudely grunting at customers that they should buy before they flick through the magazines. I can understand why they have such a policy, but I suspect that this policy will backfire and that they will lose business. (They have already lost mine!) Instead I will buy my magazines from Borders in Melbourne Central or at the Melbourne Central newsagents where you are allowed to flick through the magazines to see if they are worth buying, before making a purchase.
Leave a Reply

